July 25, 2016

Playlist Week of 2016-07-23

* Berio: String Quartets (Arditti) (Montage/Naïve CD)
* Berio: Voci (Kashkashian/Radio Symph. Wien/Davies) (ECM CD)
* Les McCann: Fish This Week (Blue Note 2LP)
* Mtume: Alkebu-Lan: Land of the Blacks (Strata East 2LP)
* Joseph Jarman & Famoudou Don Moye: Egwu-Anwu (Sun Song) (India Navigation 2LP)
* Jaco Pastorius: Jaco (Improvising Artists LP)
* Manu Katché: Playground (ECM CD)
* Dennis Gonzalez: Stars/Air/Stripes (Daagnim LP)
* The Blue Series Continuum: GoodandEvil Sessions (Thirsty Ear CD)
* The Blue Series Continuum: The Sorcerer Sessions (Thirsty Ear CD)
* J. Spaceman & Matthew Shipp: SpaceShipp (Treader CD)
* Howard Roberts: Antelope Freeway (ABC/Impulse! LP)
* Annette Peacock: I’m The One (RCA/Future Days LP)
* Neneh Cherry & The Thing: The Cherry Thing (Smalltown Supersound LP)
* The Last Poets: OH My People (Celluloid LP)
* Flying Lotus: You’re Dead! (Warp 2LP)
* Marcos Valle: Previsao Do Tempo (Oedeon/Light In The Attic LP)
* Azimüth: Azimüth (Som Livre/Far Out LP)
* Amazing Blondel: Fantasia Lindum (Island LP)
* Amazing Blondel: Mulgrave Street (DJM LP)
* Harmonia: Documents 1975 (Groenland LP)
* Harald Grosskopf: Synthesist (Sky/Bureau B LP)
* Duran Duran: Rio (Capitol LP)
* Mick Karn: Titles (Virgin LP)
* Guided By Voices: Please Be Honest (GBV, Inc. LP)
* Robert Pollard: Of Course You Are (Fire LP)
* Ricked Wicky: Swimmer To A Liquid Armchair (GBV, Inc. LP)
* Sunn O))): Oracle (Southern Lord LP)
* Atriarch: Forever The End (Seventh Rule LP)
* Deafheaven: Demo (Sargent House EP)
* Inter Arma: Paradise Gallows (Relapse 2LP)
* Wild Nothing: Life of Pause (Captured Tracks LP)



It's hot!

July 17, 2016

Playlist Week of 2016-07-16

* J.S. Bach: Violin Concertos (Academy of Ancient Music/Manze) (Harmonia Mundi SACD)
* J.S. Bach: Sonatas for Flute & Harpsichord (Beaucoudray/Christie) (Harmonia Mundi CD)
* Eddie Henderson: Realization/Inside Out (Capricorn/Soul Brother CD)
* Eddie Henderson: Sunburst (Blue Note LP)
* William Parker Violin Trio: Scrapbook (Thirsty Ear CD)
* Arcana: The Last Wave (DIW CD)
* Arcana: Arc of the Testimony (Axiom CD)
* Mat Maneri: Pentagon (Thirsty Ear CD)
* Mary Halvorson Septet: Illusionary Sea (Firehouse 12 CD)
* Tom Rainey Trio: Hotel Grief (Intakt CD)
* Tom Rainey Trio: Cornelia St. Café, NYC 2016-07-01 (AUD WAV)
* Franco Micalizzi: I Due Volti Della Paura (Pegaso/Sonar LP)
* Jack Bruce: A Question Of Time (Epic LP)
* Bill Bruford: The Bruford Tapes (Polydor LP)
* Tom Verlaine: Dreamtime (Warner Bros. LP)
* Pigbag: Dr. Heckle And Mr. Jive (Y/Rough Trade LP)
* Robert Rich: Medicine Box (Soundscape Productions CD)
* The Mars Volta: Octahedron (Warner Bros./Rodriguez Lopez 2LP)
* Kawabata Makoto: White Summer of Love Dreamer (Blackest Rainbow LP)
* Boris: Pink (Deluxe Edition) (Sargent House 3LP) (†)
* Boris: Attention Please (Sargent House LP) †
* Pig Destroyer: Mass & Volume (Relapse 12”)
* Moths & Locusts: Mission Collapse in the Twin Sun Megaverse (NoiseAgonyMayhem LP)
* Dragged Into Sunlight: Hatred For Mankind (Prosthetic CD)
* Black Cilice: Mysteries (Iron Bonehead LP)
* THAL: Glitter (Voodoo Chamber CD)



Here are my last two Vinyl Community videos, if you're interested. I'm very excited about the Black Metal VCLT I received from my friend in London (pictured). Enjoy!

July 9, 2016

Playlist Week of 2016-07-09

* Vivaldi: Cello Sonatas (ter Linden/Mortensen) (Brilliant Classics 2CD)
* Andrew Hill: Grass Roots (Blue Note CD)
* Anthony Braxton Quartet: [Quartet (Sao Paulo) 2014] (SESC 2CD)
* Evan Parker & Matthew Wright: Trance Map (Psi CD)
* Eberhard Weber: The Colours of Chloe (ECM LP)
* Mark Isham: Vapor Drawings (Windham Hill LP)
* Jeff Parker: The New Breed (International Anthem LP)
* Rodger Coleman: Real Gone (NuVoid Jazz/BandCamp WAV)
* Rodger Coleman & Sam Byrd: Heeltop Home Studio, December 2015 (selections) (WAV)
* Frank Zappa: Lumpy Gravy (Verve LP)
* John Renbourn: The Nine Maidens (Transatlantic LP)
* Amazing Blondel: Fantasia Lindum (Island LP)
* Jade Warrior: Kites (Island LP)
* This Heat: This Heat (Rough Trade/Modern Classics LP)
* This Heat: Deceit (Rough Trade/Modern Classics LP)
* Opeth: Deliverance (Music For Nations/KOCH 2LP)
* Boris: Pink (Deluxe Edition) (Sargent House 3LP)
* Boris: Attention Please (Sargent House LP)
* The Sword: High Country (Razor & Tie 2LP)
* Windhand: Grief’s Infernal Flower (Relapse 2LP)
* Inter Arma: The Cavern (Relapse LP)
* Inter Arma: Paradise Gallows (Relapse 2LP)
* Usnea: Random Cosmic Violence (Relapse 2-45RPM LP)
* Myrkur: M (Relapse LP)
* Charles Rumback & Ryley Walker: Cannots (Dead Oceans LP)



Ever since I got the Moog Sub 37 (and assembled the Moogerfoogers to build a semi-modular "Moogertron"), I have been recording a ton of music in my home studio. It is in the nature of analog synthesizers that patches are ephemeral and almost impossible to re-create after the fact, so I've pretty much been recording everything.

I've gathered some of this music into my first solo album, Real Gone, now available digitally at BandCamp. These are all live, electronic improvisations incorporating the Moog along with guitar, piano and MIDI synthesizers in various combinations and sequenced as a three-sided LP. I hope you enjoy the journey!


July 4, 2016

Playlist Week of 2016-07-02

* Marais: Sonnerie de Saint-Genieve du Mont (Harnoncourt) (Harmonia Mundi CD)
* Lachenmann: NUN/Notturno (Musik für Julia) (WDR, et al.) (KAIROS CD)
* John Cage Meets Sun Ra: The Complete Concert (Meltdown/Modern Harmonic 2LP)
* John Coltrane: Kulu Sé Mama (Impulse! CD)
* John Coltrane: Live In Seattle (Impulse/GRP 2CD)
* Open Sky: Open Sky (P.M. LP)
* Ingrid Laubrock & Tom Rainey: Buoyancy (Relative Pitch CD)
* Mazur/Neuringer: Diachronic Paths (Relative Pitch CD)
* Weather Report: Black Market (Columbia LP)
* Willie Nelson: Teatro (Island/Modern Classics 2LP)
* Van Morrison: No Guru, No Method, No Teacher (Mercury LP)
* John Renbourne: The Attic Tapes (Riverboat 2LP)
* John Martyn: Glorious Fool (WEA LP)
* Forest: Forest (Harvest/Radioactive LP)
* Strawbs: Just A Collection Of Antiques And Curios (A&M LP)
* Amon Duul II: Phallus Dei (UA/Revisited CD)
* Rodriguez: Searching For Sugarman OST (Light In The Attic 2LP)
* Genesis: Seconds Out (Charisma 2LP)
* Genesis: Three Sides Live (Atlantic 2LP)
* Opeth: Deliverance (Music For Nations/KOCH 2LP)
* Acid Mothers Temple: Recurring Dream And Apocalypse Of Darkness (Important 2LP)
* Acid Mothers Temple: Lord Of The Underground: Vishnu & The Magic Elixir (Alien8 LP)
* Grails: Burning Off Impurities (Temporary Residence 2LP)
* Wolves In The Throne Room: BBC Session 2011 Anno Domini (Southern Lord EP)
* Kylesa: Static Tensions (20 Buck Spin LP)
* Kylesa: Exhausting Fire (Season of Mist LP)
* Pelican: The Fire In Our Throats Will Beckon The Thaw (Hydra Head/Viva Hate 2LP)
* Pelican: City of Echoes (Hydra Head LP)
* Wild Nothing: Life of Pause (Captured Tracks LP)†/
* Ecstatic Vision: Sonic Praise (Relapse LP)



Happy 4th of July!

Well, this blows me away: Perihelion, my last download-only album with Sam Byrd, got an honorable mention in the "Best of 2016 (So Far)" list over at avantmusicnews.com. This site is no mere blog, but an essential resource for new music fans. We are in some pretty heady company over there (and I can think of several recent albums by musicians WAY more famous and deserving than me which did not make the list) so I am, indeed, completely honored.

Incidentally, I'm putting the final touches on a solo album featuring lots of Moog. Stay tuned.