November 30, 2014

Playlist Week of 2014-11-30

* Purcell: Fantasias for the Viols (1680) (Hesperion XX/Savall) (Alia Vox SACD)
* Poulenc: Works for Piano (selections) (Chandos 3CD)
* Bartok: Mikrokosmos (Solchany) (EMI Classics 2CD)
* Grant Green: The Complete Quartets With Sonny Clark (Blue Note 2CD)
* Bobby Hutcherson: Head On (Blue Note CD)
* Chico Hamilton: Peregrinations (Blue Note LP)
* Marion Brown & Gunter Hampel: Gesprächsfetzen (Calig-Verlag München LP)
* Paul Motian/Bill Frisell/Joe Lovano: I Have The Room Above Her (ECM CD)
* Evan Parker, et al.: The Stone, New York, NY 2014-09-13 (AUD FLAC)
* John Abercrombie Quartet: 39 Steps (ECM CD)
* Sadao Watanabe: Round Trip (Vanguard LP)
* Volker Kriegel: Spectrum (MPS CD)
* Anouar Brahem: Conte de l’incroyable amour (ECM CD)
* David Torn: I-Beam, Brooklyn, NY 2014-05-29 (AUD FLAC)
* Tom Rainey Trio: Cornelia St. Café, New York, NY 2013-10-19 (AUD FLAC)
* Stefano Bollani: Joy In Spite Of Everything (ECM CD)
* Rodger Coleman & Sam Byrd: Cosmologies (NuVoid Jazz LP)
* Rodger Coleman & Sam Byrd: Heeltop Home Studio 2014-11-25 (WAV)
* Danny Heines: Aqua Touch (Silver Wave LP)
* Jon Hassell: Power Spot (ECM CD)
* Steve Roach: Structures from Silence (Fortuna CD)
* Steve Roach: Dreamtime Return (Fortuna 2CD)
* Steve Roach & Robert Rich: Soma (Hearts of Space CD)
* Robert Rich: Seven Veils (Hearts of Space CD)
* Scott Cossu: Wind Dance (Windham Hill LP)
* Scott Cossu: She Describes Infinity (Windham Hill LP)
* Dieter Schütz: Voyage (Sky/Life Style LP)
* David Lange: Return Of The Comet (Hearts of Space LP)
* George Duke: Reach For It (Epic LP)
* George Duke: Don’t Let Go (Epic LP)
* Flying Lotus: You’re Dead! (Warp 2LP)
* Shelby Lynne: Just A Little Lovin’ (Lost Highway/Analogue Productions LP)
* Los Lobos: Kiko (Warner Bros. CD)
* Klaatu: Klaatu (Capitol LP)
* Hot Chip: In Our Dreams (Domino CD)
* Anatomy of Habit: Ciphers & Axioms (Relapse LP)
* Inter Arma: The Cavern (Relapse EP) †



An absolutely epic session with Sam Byrd on Tuesday, wherein we recorded over 100 minutes of music, picking up right where we left off! While the new piano plays and sounds fantastic, it was really exciting to plug in the electric guitar again, like the old days of UYA . We went to some seriously interesting places, places I cannot get to on the piano.

Plans are vague at this point except to keep recording. One (or perhaps two sessions) at Christmas and  a long weekend in the spring. I want to take our time and craft something really special.

In the meantime, Cosmologies is still available - though the limited edition vinyl LP is about half-gone. I listened to it again for the first time in a long time this week and it definitely holds up! The next one is going to be even better.

I hope you all had as nice a Thanksgiving as I did!


AGM said...

I'm always impressed how productive you and Sam are: reading, listening to music, making and recording music, posting, etc. Amazing! How do you do it?

Sam said...

Well, I can only speak for myself: no spectator sports :) --Sam

Rodger Coleman said...

Haha - multi-tasking. And no TV!

Rodger Coleman said...

AGM - Nice blog, by the way - good beer and good music? You are speaking my language! Bookmarked!

Roddus said...

I really enjoyed FYA and would love to hear your guitar work again. looking forward to some recordings being released.